Sourav Ganguly Out, Roger Binny To Replace As The BCCI President. Another Political Vendetta?

Sourav Gaungly

Sourav Ganguly, the BCCI President, will be replaced by the 1983 world cup winner Roger Binny. Earlier, Ganguly refused to join Narendra Modi’s BJP party. 

Sourav Ganguly, former Indian Men Cricket team captain, has been the BCCI President for the last three years. But he has been forced to rule out for the second time as the President of the Board of Control for Cricket in India. Also, he will have no position on the board. 1983 World Cup winner Roger Binny will replace him and will be in charge. The annual general meeting of BCCI will be held on October 18 in Mumbai. 

Roger Binny has been in the cricket administration for a long time. Binny was a part of the KSCA administrations between 2010 to 2012, and then he was involved on the board of the Karnataka Cricket Association (KSCA) for three years and was elected the president in 2019. Now, he has an opportunity to sit in the top position of the Indian cricket association. 

There will be two more changes in the BCCI board. First, Ashish Shelar will be the treasurer, who was the president of the Mumbai Cricket Association for three years, from 2017 to 2019. And the second, Devajit Saikia, will be the Joint Secretary, who was a secretary in the Assam Cricket Association. There is also a new appointment of Arun Dhumal, who will be the new IPL chairman. The former IPL chairman Brijesh Patel will be forced to exit as he turns 70 soon. 

Now, coming to the political vendetta part, as Dr Santanu Sen stated, Sourav Ganguly is from Mamata Banarjee’s state, where the ruling party is TIMC. He also added, “We are with you Dada!” The controversy has started as Jay Shah is still in the secretary position of BCCI. After this, Dilip Ghosh replied, “Sourav Ganguly is a cricketing legend. SOme people are now shedding crocodile tears about the chances in BCCI.”

Featured Image Source:

Read Also:

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *